One of these nine candidates will be the next Prime Minister

UK Conservatives announce 9 candidates to replace Theresa May

The 1922 Committee announced that the following nominations have been validated:

  • Michael Gove
  • Matt Hancock
  • Mark Harper
  • Jeremy Hunt
  • Sajid Javid
  • Boris Johnson
  • Andrea Leadsom
  • Esther McVey
  • Dominic Raab
  • Rory Stewart

Now the official race begins. Sam Gyimah, the only contender backing another referendum on Brexit,
withdrew from the race shortly after nominations closed, saying there
was not enough time to build support.

The race will be over by July 22

The first vote to whittle down the candidates will take place June 13 between 10 am and noon. The candidate with the least support among MPs is eliminated along with any candidate with fewer than 5% of the MPs supporting him/her (16 votes).

On June 16 there is a TV debate. On June 18 there will be a second vote of MPs, with a third on the 19th and a fourth on the 20th.

That will bring down the total number of candidates to two. At that point, voting by members will begin.

Articles You May Like

How to Spot and Avoid Forex Trading Systems Scams 🕵️
New traders learning point: Risk and the Yen
Bond yields extend fall on the session
Profiting from the 123 Trading Pattern 💡
Australia: Economic growth set to pick up in H2 2019 – ANZ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *